Book Review: Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil

This post contains affiliate links. If you click on a link and purchase something, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. All income earned goes towards the upkeep of this site and my main site, TrueCrimeDiva.com.


Silent Child by Sarah Denzil
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (January 26, 2017)
Genres: Mystery: Psychological Thrillers
Pages: 416
Format: Kindle
Source: Amazon
Buy on Amazon

 

 

 

 

From Amazon:

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son’s red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year – a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She’s married, pregnant, and in control again… … until Aiden returns. Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken. As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime? It’s Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable. This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

Excerpt from book:

There was nothing remarkable about the boy in the hospital room. He was propped up by pillows on the bed, with a pigeon chest poking up inside blue pyjamas. I never found out who bought him those pyjamas, but I suspected it was DCI Stevenson. The boy had straggly brown hair that hung lankly down to the collar of his pyjama top. He sat with his fingers clutching hold of the bed sheets, his gaze fixed on the tiny hospital television. I took a tentative step forward, following the doctor but barely aware of anyone else in the room except the boy in the bed, whose head turned in my direction and stopped my heart.

He had Rob’s eyes.

About the Author

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. Her books include SILENT CHILD, which has topped the kindle charts in the UK and Australia, as well as being a top ten Amazon bestseller in the US. SAVING APRIL and THE BROKEN ONES are both top thirty bestsellers in the US and UK Amazon charts.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather. She loves to write moody, psychological books about ordinary people in extraordinary situations.

My Thoughts

This is the first fictional book I have reviewed since starting book reviews here at TrueCrimeDiva.com. This book popped up in my notifications bar on my phone and once I read what it was about, I had to buy it.

This is also the first book I have read by Sarah. I was hooked from the opening paragraph! Sarah weaves a convincing tale of the horrors of being a parent of a missing child and what that parent goes through when the child is first gone and then safely returned home.

Emma Price, the main character, is pretty much a bad ass. I liked her from the very beginning. She’s strong and loyal, cusses like a sailor at times, and loves her child immensely. When Aiden comes home, she does everything in her power to get through to her emotionally scarred son and help him transition back into the family environment and society.

I went through several emotions reading this book. I know what it is like to be the mother of a missing child. I know what it’s like when the child comes home traumatized. The roller coaster of emotions is off the charts. You go through so many different ones that you feel like you are going insane. Dealing with the press is horrifying, truth be told, and Sarah nails it on the head of what that is like for the parents.

This book is probably more for females than males. Regardless, please purchase and read this book. Sarah is a wonderful author and you can best believe I will read her other books. And I’ll even review them here. 😉

(Visited 686 times, 1 visits today)